The Problem with Ataraxia

Steven Gambardella
3 min readSep 29, 2022
Do we only see things clearly when we have words for them? Photo by Linda Xu on Unsplash

Back in July last year I was contacted by Brigid Delaney, an Australian journalist with an interest in mental health and well-being. She interviewed me for a feature about the philosophical concept of ataraxia for The Guardian, and it was great to exchange ideas with her.

That The Guardian was covering ataraxia will be encouraging for everyone who looks to the ancient Hellenistic philosophies for life guidance.

And so I jumped at the chance. It’s precisely my aim to spread as far and wide as possible the notion that happiness doesn't consist in pleasure and indulgence. I was happy to elaborate that a deeper, enduring happiness consists in the absence of distress, in peace of mind.

That’s what ataraxia really means. Its rough translation is “without perturbation” or “un-perturbed”.

--

--